Why should I share?

Last night while I was reading to my girls, we came across a book I am all too familiar with. I picked it out for the specific purpose of reading it to them in hopes that they would learn from it. It is called “Why Should I Share?”

Just a cute book about the benefits of sharing.

But for some reason, when I was reading it for the thirteenth time, knowing full well that they aren’t going to share because I read them a book about it, a new thought ran through my head.

Why do I share?

As a parent, we don’t have much of a choice about sharing our stuff. What’s ours is theirs, that’s parenting 101. You are a mom first so if you have something they want, who do you think ultimately gets it? Unless you follow my handy “hide in the closet to eat that candy bar” rule.

But when I started this blog, it wasn’t about sharing my stuff, it was about sharing my mind, my experiences and my life. Good or bad, happy or sad, picture perfect or downright ugly. And if you actually follow along, it can get pretty ugly.

So, the question is, why do I share?

Why do I feel the need to air my dirty laundry out for the world to read?

And sometimes, I don’t know the answer.

Sometimes I feel bad about the things I write, especially my complaining about life as a stay at home mom. Because even though it is a grueling job that has me at my wits end on a day to day basis, I truly love and adore my kids. I feel lucky to be able to have all the days with them, good and bad. Because the good is so good, and worth it.

But I like writing about the bad times, the times when I’m ashamed, the times when I royally fail, the times when I stand in front of the mirror and wonder how I ever thought I could possibly raise actual human beings.

I like it because if me talking about how dumb I can be makes you laugh, it’s worth it. If me sharing about the time my toddler and her friend got into a tube of diaper rash cream and decided to give each other waterproof facials makes you feel better about your bad day, it’s worth it. And if me telling you that every single mom has bad days, and every single mom feels like a failure, and every single mom has no idea what they are doing at some point in their life, if that helps someone who is on the verge of losing it, than it is not only worth it, it is amazing.

We need to share the bad with the good.

Don’t get me wrong, I could write books on how wonderful and special I think my kids are (and I probably will some day), but let’s face it, no one cares but me (and my husband, who worships the ground his little girls walk on). Me bragging about my kids is just that, bragging.

But when you are in the thick of it, and you feel like every other mom has it together and is Pinteresting their way to Mother of the Year, I will share about when I was so exhausted that I accidentally put a tampon in my daughter’s lunch instead of a string cheese. And you will know that you are not alone.

Because we can’t do this alone.

I share because I hope you share with me too. Seriously. I need help. This is hard…

P.s…No babies were harmed in the following picture,  although a wall, a changing table,  some hair and all the clothes you see were….

IMG_7829-1

 

Leave a Reply

