Waiting…

20170129_174346I am a mother to two beautiful baby girls. Well, not so much babies anymore. Toddlers.

And right now, my life completely revolves around these girls, as it should.

And I know as a mom, I’m supposed to say I want my babies to stay babies forever. To stay little and cuddly and loveable as long as possible. So that I can keep them mine for as long as possible.

But to be honest, and as a mom I know that’s a rarity on the internet, I can’t wait for them to grow.

No, I don’t want them to leave me, but them growing up is something I can’t wait to see.

I can’t wait to send them off to school with the nervous excitement in their eyes, wondering what their future holds and knowing they are at the beginning of the journey of the rest of their lives.

I can’t wait to hear them read me a book, instead of me reading one to them, and see how proud of themselves they get when they finish it, realizing that what once seemed impossible has just been achieved.

I can’t wait to watch them start changing from babies, to little girls, to little women.

I can’t wait to see them turn red when I tease them about their first crush, and comfort them when they realize that not all crushes become the love of your life.

I can’t wait to pick out a prom dress and a graduation cap and cheer louder than anyone when they walk up to get their diploma, excited about their future that is about to begin.

I can’t wait to hear about their hopes and dreams and who they want to be when they grow up. To watch them become the best at whatever it is they want to be.

I can’t wait to meet the person they bring home and see if they are worthy enough of the beautiful, amazing women that I had a small part in creating.

I can’t wait to watch my husband walk them down the aisle and give their hand to the love of their lives.

I can’t wait to hold their hands and rub their head as they go through the hardest and most rewarding time of their lives as they bring their own babies into this world.

I can’t wait to get the call in the middle of the night when they are so tired and feel like giving up because being a mother is harder than they ever imagined and being able to tell them they are stronger than they think, that they can do this and I will always be right here.

I can’t wait until we are not just mother and child, but friends, true friends.

And I realize that these are my dreams.  I have no idea how life will turn out for me or them.  They might never graduate high school, might not want to get married or have kids, might not ever do the things I have dreamed for them.

And that will be okay. It might not feel okay, but it will be okay.

Because the most important thing I can not wait for,  is to see them embrace this life with fierce love, and unbridled kindness, and a hunger to take each moment and live each moment to the absolute fullest.

I can’t wait to see their crazy beautiful journey, because being their mother has already been the greatest gift of my life.

 

Leave a Reply

